Moygownagh GAA History
The Moygownagh GAA Club grounds and facilities have been developed by Moygownagh GAA over the past thirty years through the very generous help of the local community and local volunteers. The club has been a very active social outlet for both young and old throughout the years. Our club was formed in 1979, with the purchase of the field known as ‘Cawleys Field’, where the pitch and community centre stand today. The present pitch along with the adjacent stand was officially opened as the Fr Michael Gilroy Memorial Park in 1982 and the meeting of Mayo v Sligo.

Success followed in the next years with the parish Camoige team winning the county senior championship in 1984. The senior footballers best year was 2 years later in 1986 when they won every cup available to them. It was no surprise that the club would produce county quality players when both Anthony 'Larry' Finnerty and Pat Holmes graced the field in All-Ireland finals wearing the green and red of Mayo..

In 1987, after a huge community effort, the Community Centre and dressing rooms were built providing a great facility for the people of the parish to socialise through sports, drama and ceíles dances to name but a few of the activities there. Scór was also a great social event in the GAA over the years, a competition in which the club competed for many years with success and enjoyment and not without a few All-Ireland appearances along the way including the locally written novelty act, ‘The Moygownagh Man’, preformed in the National Concert Hall. Moygownagh has also had great success with set dancing, and solo-singing Scór competitions. The early nineties saw Fergal O’Murchú singing his way to three consecutive All-Ireland tittles, a feat never been repeated nationally.

Our GAA club has further developed over the years, offering alongside its Community Council offices first class facilities to local clubs and societies within the community including the Learning Centre, (formerly home to 'The Women of The North West'),  Daria's Daycare and the Moygownagh Heritage Society. 

On 21 October, 2017, Moygownagh Juniors won their first senior county cup, winning the Junior 'C' County Cup in Ballyhaunis, defeating Kilmaine 1-7 to 1-5. 

Moygownagh Junior 'C' County Champions 2017.jpg


Moygownagh GAA Club officers

Chairman: Billy Heffron, Secretary: John Damien McDonnell, Bord Na Nóg: Vinnie Gallagher, Treasurers: Anthony Gallagher, P.R.O: John Diamond, President: Tony Finnerty, Club Patron: Rita Holmes.